Help
Help

This page teaches players about Save Management for Dark Souls 3. Included are save limitations and conditions for all platforms.

  • The game autosaves regularly after most actions, often after any item has been picked up or dropped, an enemy defeated, a bonfire lit or rested at or a conversation had with an NPC.
  • There is only one save per account, so anything you do is final
  • "Save Scumming" is the practice of creating a copy of your save to an external location, so that you may revert to it and change your actions.

 

PS4 Save Files

  • Saves for Dark Souls 3 are located in your "Game Save Data Management"folder.
  • You can save one copy to online storage if you have a PS+ membership. "Game Save Data Management" > Save Data in System storage > Upload to online storage
  • You can save a copy to an external USB drive, as many times as necessary. "Game Save Data Management" > Save Data in System storage > Copy to USB

Xbox One Save Files

  • Saves for Dark Souls 3 are located in ??folder.
  • You can save one copy to online storage if ??. ??
  • You can save a copy to an external USB drive, ??

PC Save Files

  • Saves for Dark Souls 3 are located in your /C>Users>"username">AppData>Roaming>DarkSoulsIII.
  • It's possible that the folders are hidden so unhide them in your folder settings. You can do this by going to control panel and clicking on Appearance and Personalization or File Explorer Options in Windows 10, click on the "View" tab and check the box for "Show hidden files, folders and drives" then press ok.
  • You can create backups of your data, but if you encounter an "Invalid Game Data" message, see below.

 

As per the official Bandai Namco site:

"Invalid Game Data" warning message on Main Menu after starting up Dark Souls III

This message is intended to inform end users that some external file, modification of game save data, exploit or cheat/hack, or alterations to the game have been detected by the Dark Souls III server team and that the end users' account/profile has been flagged for further investigation. The warning message ("Invalid Game Data") will continue to be displayed until the Dark Souls III server team has determined whether or not a violation of the End User License Agreement (EULA) occurred. At that point the account/profile will either have restrictions placed on it (to limit the online interactions during multiplayer sessions and a further penalty message of "You have been Penalized" issued) or the "Invalid Game Data" warning message removed.

During the time that the warning message is displayed the end user will have a chance to completely remove any such external files, mods, cheats/hacks or delete their game save (if alterations were performed to it or hacked items/equipment were obtained either as a direct cheat/hack or via unknown "gift" from an online player).

Due to the apparent risk of "taking candy from strangers", it is recommended that players should always back up their save data to an online service (such as cloud saves) or as a direct back-up of the save file to a separate folder/directory (for PC/Steam). This would allow any players who; end up receiving a hacked item/equipment unknowingly from an online player, the ability to restore their original game data from the cloud or separate backed up game data.

We have also included a link below to the Dark Souls III EULA as many end users have requested additional information regarding what would be considered a "Restrictable/Punishable" offense. The specific section of the EULA that covers "Online Conduct" is covered in Section 7.

Link to Dark Souls III EULA article

 

 

 




    • Anonymous

      03 Aug 2017 04:44  

      Just wanted to share, there is still a way to restore/use different save game files (across different steam accounts, etc) and avoid the save game errors from loading them. Here is the current webpage of DS3Manager: http://leg.fxgaming.org/files/SystemTest/?Main:Dark_Souls_III

      • Anonymous

        24 Jun 2017 14:27  

        I accidentally hit delete everywhere on my profiles saved data and now all my characters with a total of over 25 days are all gone.

        • Anonymous

          09 Jun 2017 22:41  

          I have Family Share enabled with my fiance. I played maybe 60 hours of DS3 (up to Oceiros) using his copy, but on my account while staying with him, and wanted to continue now that I'm home.

          Transferring the save date via the method outlned above absolutely does not work. "Failed to load" all the way, like some*****ty version of Jingle Bells. I can't imagine why this is the only modern game series in my whole library not to allow cloud saves or easy backups (oh, Namco 'allows' me to backup my OWN save data? How very gracious and generous!) and it is incredibly frustrating.

          Is there any way around this? I'm okay with going through some weird laborious fix, if it'll only give me back my stuff!

          • Anonymous

            19 May 2017 22:08  

            PCversion: I moved my save then put it back; result = "failed to load" Consequence: after all those pain and suffering you are not allowed to backup your save! True. Fck'em..... :(

            • Anonymous

              14 May 2017 13:53  

              I just copied my PC save files when I reinstalled my Windows 10 and formatted my disk, and I lost like 50% of Ringed City progress and 10 level... -.- what. the. frick. How the hell does that happen if I copied the entire %AppData% folder??

              • Anonymous

                29 Apr 2017 22:44  

                I play on two separate computers due to one being my personal computer I use for school but the other being my gaming computer, when I moved out at first I didn't have the chance to move my gaming rig so I made a few characters on my personal computer, can i move those accounts onto my computer or would that penalize me?

                • Anonymous

                  06 Apr 2017 16:27  

                  Backup save has Dancer's Swords.
                  Current Save has Dancer's Swords

                  Is it alright if I gave the Current Save's Dancer's Swords to a friend, then reloading the backup save so I still have the swords.


                  *putting this note here for easy navigation later*

                  • Anonymous

                    28 Mar 2017 13:09  

                    so we just can't backup cuz if we do we have a chance of being banned for trying to get backup files? (pc version)

                    • 10 Feb 2017 09:30  

                      I have the standart DS3 version on my PS4 console. I am thinking on getting the Deluxe Edition so I can have the DLCs on physical copy. Any idea if I will be able to play on my old save? Thank you!

                      • You can't backup saves to online could on PS4.14 Jul 2016 20:40  

                        I tried, and no such luck... unless the PS4 has to be the primary account despite using the profile that paid for PS+.

                        • Anonymous

                          losing save files14 Jun 2016 23:35  

                          I've formatted my pc and forget to back up the save files! so is there any way that I can restore my files?

                          • Anonymous

                            Pirate version07 Jun 2016 15:20  

                            Is there any restriction to a transfer a save game from a pirate version to the original? i am thinking to buy the original game.

                            • Anonymous

                              Achievement unlocker24 May 2016 16:54  

                              I used achievement unlocker but now when I open up dark souls it says i'll be penalised if I continue. Anyway to reset the changed files? When I reset the achievements it still threatens to penalise me.

                            Load more

                            Chat